Baku to host discussions on Caspian Sea legal status

The ad hoc working group tasked to develop a convention on the Caspian Sea’s legal status will hold a session in Baku in late January, Khalaf Khalafov, Azerbaijani deputy foreign minister, told reporters in Baku Jan. 20.

The agenda of the ad hoc group includes continuation of discussions on uncoordinated issues regarding the convention.

Khalafov said all countries confirmed that they will participate in the session.

“This will be a preparatory session before a ministerial meeting,” Khalafov said.

The Caspian littoral states – Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan and Iran – signed a Framework Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the Caspian Sea in November 2003.

Russia and Kazakhstan signed an agreement on the delimitation of the northern part of the Caspian Sea in order to exercise sovereign rights for subsoil use in July 1998. The two countries signed a protocol to the agreement in May 2002.

Kazakhstan and Azerbaijan signed an agreement on the delimitation of the Caspian Sea and a protocol to it on Nov. 29, 2001 and Feb. 27, 2003, respectively.

Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan and Russia signed an agreement on the delimitation of adjacent sections of the Caspian Sea on May 14, 2003.

Summits of heads of the Caspian states were held in 2002 in Ashgabat, in 2007 in Tehran, in 2010 in Baku and in 2014 in Astrakhan.