Russian State Duma ratifies Armenia’s EAU accession treaty

The Russian State Duma ratified the treaty of Armenia’s accession to the Eurasian Economic Union (EAU) at the meeting Dec. 10, RIA Novosti reported. Russian President Vladimir Putin submitted the bill on the treaty ratification to the State Duma. In May Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan signed and ratified the agreement on establishment of the EAU starting from Jan. 1, 2015.

An agreement on Armenia’s joining the EAU was signed in Minsk, Belarus on Oct. 10.

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAU) is an economic union, which is being created as part of the Eurasian integration on the basis of the Customs Union of Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus starting from Jan. 1, 2015.